Standards of Care

The Standards of Care are arranged in three sections - Services for Adults, Services for Children and Young People and Services for Everybody.

Use these Standards of Care to make an informed assessment about the levels of care you or someone you know receives or when choosing a new care service

Large Print and easyread

A number of the National Care Standards are available in large print and easyread. Please contact us for further information by phone on 0131 244 5387 or e-mail

Do you have a concern?

Services for Adults

  • Care homes for older people
  • Support services
  • Care homes for people with drug and alcohol misuse problems
  • Care homes for people with learning disabilities
  • Care homes for people with mental health problems
  • Adult placement services
  • Care homes for people with physical and sensory impairment
  • Housing support services enable people to live independently
  • Services for people in criminal justice supported accommodation
  • Short breaks and respite care

Services for Children and Young People

  • Adoption agencies
  • Care homes for children and young people
  • Childcare agencies
  • Early education and childcare up to the age of 16
  • Foster care and family placement services
  • School care accommodation services

Service for Everybody

  • Care at home
  • Hospice care
  • Independent hospitals
  • Independent specialist clinics
  • Nurse agencies
  • Independent medical consultant and GP services
  • Dental services